The following narrative is a slight digression from our usual content, but I thought you might enjoy it anyway..

Yesterday I finally mustered up the courage to dive into the carburetor rebuild that I’ve been procrastinating on. I’m not sure where my fear of tinkering on carburetors comes from. Theoretically they are amazingly simple devices, but via the wonders of physics perform what in my mind still seems like black magic. So many screws… So many adjustments… So many little brass pieces to lose or break or put in backwards…


Anyway, it wasn’t as bad as I thought. 

Whether by chance or on purpose, Weber cleverly designed all the fiddly bits to have a sort of logic about them. The way the jets are shaped or how a screw is sized gives each item a feeling of “It goes here because it doesn’t fit anywhere else”. I had taken many reference pictures before hand, but found myself only having to reference them once, and only for the complicated reassembly of the spring tensioned accelerator pump. I also kept the second carb fully assembled while working on the first in case I needed it as live reference. I’ve only completed the first one so far, but I’m really pleased with the results. It’s too early to pat myself on the back, as they still need to go back in the car and be adjusted, but so far so good…













