I think it was two weeks ago when my boss, half concerned half disgusted and half impressed, pointed out that I had eaten purple pop tarts for breakfast, reheated cheesesteak for lunch, and had put a very serious dent in the bag of candy Michelle bought for our potential trick or treaters. Embarrassingly this wasn’t the first time someone had pointed out my poor eating habits. The truth is, despite spending hours each week pushing to grab every last bit of fitness, my diet is down right awful.

It was also a recent grocery shopping trip where during the checkout, Michelle was horrified at how many highly processed, sodium sky rocketing, false meals I had dumped into our cart. Frozen breakfast bowls, microwave chicken alfredo, powder macaroni and cheese…

Disgusted yet?

Anyway, what all this means is that I’ve finally decided it’s time for a change. For the past two weeks, and hopefully many more, Michelle and I have been doing our best to eliminate processed food from our diets. It doesn’t sound like much, but we’re not exactly in this to win Biggest Loser. Plus cutting carbs or eating like a caveman is dumb. Our plan is simple: just eat real food. If the ingredients make you think of Breaking Bad, put it back. No soda, no unnecessary sugar, and nothing with a health claim like low-fat, sugar-free, or diet.

Sucralose? That shit was invented by accident when somebody messed up mixing a new batch of pesticide. Seriously.

So what’s left? Fruits, vegetables, whole grains, potatoes, milk, eggs, whatever. Whole foods, and not necessarily from Whole Foods (which Michelle hates). We get a ton of produce from Aldi and most of the rest at Giant down the street. The best part? It’s been saving us money too. Buying a ton of fruits and veggies = cheap. Cutting out all the junk food I was buying before = $$$$$.

I’m not really sure where I was going with all this, but wanted to share. I can’t say it’s made a life changing difference just yet, but I do feel better overall, and it’s as easy as making one good substitution a day. Now here are the most delicious cinnamon walnut apples Michelle made the other night.

photo

