hold the veggies.

Although you really shouldn’t as Michelle and I learned Wednesday night at a post-workout nutrition seminar hosted by Sunnybrook Racing’s title sponsor, Limerick Chiropractic. It was pretty eye opening since our diet currently consists of a rotation featuring burritos, cereal, cheese, and burritos. Since then we’ve been working on incorporating a better mix of carbohydrates, proteins, and fats. Dr. Baker also stressed that fiber is an incredibly important part of our diets and thus confirmed that my 2007 study/presentation was not only accurate but a service to those classmates who were awake and paying attention.

After the seminar, Michelle was peer pressured into attending one of my teammate’s spin classes so Thursday night we headed over to Iroy Fitness. Maria uses the popular Sufferfest movies to structure her classes and this week featured five 4 minute all-out intervals. There’s nothing like squeezing out every ounce of energy for four long ass minutes then repeating four more times. Luckily for me, I had a training ride later that night so Maria let me skip a few efforts.

Training ride later that night? Yes, that’s correct. For some reason we thought it’d be ok to do 10 high speed laps through the parking lot at the outlets in Sanatoga. After all, the season is starting soon and we haven’t done much cornering over the winter. Too bad we started at 8pm (the mall closes at 9pm) and forgot to ask permission (the mall also has a strict no bikes/skateboards/rollerblades policy). It was fun for two laps, but security quickly had seen enough and called in for back-up. Helmet cam footage can be seen here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vvT1CRfnu9Q

Friday night was quiet. All three of us were exhausted.

Saturday morning, I wasn’t sure what the weather would be like so I started in the garage wrenching away on the rabbit for bit. If you remember, I was recently able to finally get the motor into the car. The fun part now is realizing all the work that would have been 1,000 times easier to do with the motor out of the car. Good times. Mid-way through the morning though I was pleasantly surprised by the Fed-Ex truck. A nice man jumped out and had me sign for a 42lb box addressed to Sunnybrook Racing. Huh? Oh yeah! The new kits!

New kit day is probably the most exciting day of the year for a cyclist. It’s also secretly everyone’s top reason for racing in the first place…

By then it was noon, and with a clear sky and sun, Jamie and I headed over to the Modern Classics show at Martin Motorsport in Boyertown. It’s a motorcycle show that features 60’s and 70’s bikes so I rode the CB360 while Jamie rode his ’65 Honda Cub. To my surprise, the CB360 received a lot of attention in the parking lot and people generally liked what I had done with it. I think at some point nearly every aging motorcyclist owned one of these old Honda’s so people get nostalgic when they see mine. Nearly every conversation starts with “I used to have…”

The show was small, so with the daylight quickly evaporating we headed off for some back roads. The bike was running great and after leaving Jamie’s, I decided to take the faster highway home. Tucked down in what is more like my bicycle racing position, I had no trouble keeping up with traffic on the little 40 year old, 30 horsepower Honda. Unfortunately, the Honda reacted just like my legs do in a bicycle race and quit functioning about halfway home. Luckily, it was a on a downhill so I was able to coast most of the way to the next off ramp. A half mile push later, I was safely awaiting rescue in the bikepath parking lot.

Sunday morning I woke up bright and early (and sore) for the start of road racing season. I scrambled to eat and get everything packed then headed off to meet at Jamie’s. On the way, I did my best to answer the eager questions of our three first time lady racers. My favorite was easily “Ben, is it against the rules to blow a snot rocket?” Everyone did great though, and I was super proud of all our rookies. I, on the other hand, am still months behind in fitness and had not one but two lousy races. Maybe I shouldn’t have slacked in that spin class…

Jamie had a much better race, and his helmet cam footage can be seen here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mc2aYlZ0rRw

After getting home from the races, Cadence and I took a nice long walk to stretch out the legs. Bedtime – 8:30pm.

